Testing Marabu Color your Dreams

This past weekend I was the lucky receiver of a test package for the new http://www.marabu.de/kreativ/colour-your-dreams/ line of products. It contained 4 of their new accent paints for interior decoration; the paints came in nice hues and with some tools, like a paint roller, brush, and palette-knife, a stencil spray and a huge stencil of the Paris Eiffel Tower. I was not too partial to the stencil itself, but I have a lot of my own stencils, and I had to try the paints out right away; and I must say I loved them, the process is very easy and the paints worked extremely well both for usage with a palette-knife and for usage with the paint roller; I used the paints on small wooden dimensional frames, and I just love how they turned out:

bilder4

bilder3

bilder6

Once I had my stencil cut out with my cutting plotter machine (or you could use a store-bought stencil or cut one with an exacto knife and some acetate and apply the stencil spray), I just had to apply the paint over the stencil and remove the stencil. It literally was done in 5 minutes. The stencil can be used several times, just spray it in again with stencil spray and clean it well with water as long as the paint is still wet. I used the silver metallic paint with the paint roller, and the result was a nice and even layer of color, with an elegant metallic sheen. And then I tried the palette-knife and champagne relief paint, it has just a little bit of glitter and also turned out beautiful and crisp. The paints are meant for wall decor, but – as you see, you can also use them for other objects and projects.

What I also liked was that the paints are water-based, can be washed out of your utensils just with water and don’t smell unpleasantly.

So, I’d like to say thank you to Marabu for having me test the paints, it was fun and I am sure to do some more testing soon. I have some more ideas of what I could do with them.

Leave a Reply

