Embellishments

Great theme for this week at Wednesday Stampers! I love embellishments, all kinds of embellishments! Especially, I like pearls, sequins, rhinestones, German scrap, flowers, metals, natural materials, etc.; But mostly I like to make my own embellishments using scraps of hand-decorated papers, vellum or other nice materials, for small co-ordinating punchouts, free-cut forms or strips to weave into a border – See an example with some of these uses here. I own a Spellbinders Wizard and use it to create die-cuts and emboss them for embellishment, like in my Leo card. Fibers – not so much. Ribbons: I love them in other people’s artwork, but do not use them myself a lot.

For my entry this week, I used German scrap and tiny purple nailheads of 3 mm diameter. They are originally made for ironing on, but I just glue them on.

weihnacht-005.jpg

I also like the possibilities bottle caps can offer. The one on the schoolboy card has a handmade heart in it which was made by passing a textured (dotted) Ikea shelf liner piece through my Wizard and then sanded for creating some distressing.

9 thoughts on “Embellishments

Leave a Reply

