Post-it Books and Musings about Accuracy…

I decided to try out some post-it books. It was not easy, because I am sometimes challenged when it comes to trying to work as accurately as possible. I always mix up measurements, have troubles cutting straight lines, detect glue spots where they do not belong, and besides that, attaching an object in a straight way seems to be an insurmountable obstacle to me… but it’s a good exercise to try anyway. So here they are. The first one is covered with paste paper I made myself.

pib.jpg

pib2.jpg
While living in the US, I used to take some classes at South Florida Art Center (a wonderful place bringing together artists and the public). I took some jewelry classes with an artist whose name I unfortunately do not remember. She was a wonderfully creative person but also seemed a bit chaotic (two properties which seem to come together in one person often…). I was surprised to hear from her that I was supposed to sit straight in order to get my work done in an accurate way. It was an important lesson for me to learn…

She tought us how to make a little box. Have a look at mine, already a bit aged, but still treasured:

Silver Box

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

